Earlier this week, 39 political parties and movements led by the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and the Reformed – All Progressives Congress (R-APC) announced the formation of a Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP) to wrest power from the Buhari-led APC in 2019.

From the outset, the TakeItBack movement has made it clear that what we seek is a complete transformation of the Nigerian political process. The solution to Nigeria’s problems cannot be found with the same parties and persons who created and contributed to those challenges in the first place.

The PDP and the APC (or the R-APC) are two sides of the same bad coin. For almost two decades, these two parties have been responsible for unbridled corruption and rapacious damage to Nigeria’s economy and her moral fabric.  The solution to Nigeria’s challenges cannot be found with any of these parties, or in any coalition of the desperate, that they put together.

The TakeitBack Movement and our convener, Omoyele Sowore, cannot and will never be part of any coalition that includes these corrupt and morally bankrupt parties. We are NOT so desperate to win that we would sacrifice our integrity, or the trust of the Nigerian people.

The path of honour and integrity is a long, arduous and sometimes lonely one. We believe there are no short cuts to progress. We are committed to towing the path of honour – however lonely and challenging that path might be. We are convinced that the Nigerian people are not seeking to replace one set of thieves with another set of recycled rogues in 2019.

The TakeitBack movement remains committed to working with progressive, people-oriented parties that are dedicated to the transformation and the progress of the Nigerian nation.

At the end of this month, we will be announcing the political party that the TakeitBack Movement will be using as a platform for the 2019 elections, as well as the members of our coalition of progressive parties and organisations.

We urge Nigerians to remain vigilant. Nigeria MUST progress!!

Dr Malcolm Fabiyi
Director General
TakeitBack Movement/Sowore 2019